Knowledge Base

How To Install An Operating System on an Unamanaged VPS

Using the VPS Control panel you can install a fresh copy of your operating system or change to a different operating system. This article provides step by step instructions.

This process erases all data on the VPS. Make sure you back up any important data or files and transfer them to a safe location before you reinstall the operating system.

To change or reinstall the operating system for your VPS, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to the Customer Portal.
    If you do not know how to log in to the Customer Portal, please see this article.
  2. On the menu bar, click Services, and then click MY SERVICES. The My Products & Services page is shown.

    Customer Portal - Services - My Services

  3. On the My Products & Services page, locate your Dynamic VPS, and then click the Manage button. The Manage page for the VPS is shown.

  4. On the Manage page, in the Actions sidebar, click Login to Control Panel. The Customer Portal logs you in to VPS Control Panel automatically.

    If you have previously changed your password in in the VPS Control Panel, the automatic login functionality in the Customer Portal does not work. However, you can access the VPS Control Panel without going through the Customer Portal. To do this, follow these steps:

    1. Use your web browser to go to https://solusvm2.a2hosting.com:5656.
    2. In the Username text box, type your SolusVM username.
    3. In the Password text box, type your SolusVM password.
    4. Click Login.
  5. On the Home page of the VPS Control Panel, click the Manage button of the server where the new operating system will be installed.

    SolusVM - Manage server

  6. In the Controls section at the bottom of the page, click on the General tab if it is not already selected and then click the Reinstall button. A list of operating system images is shown.

  7. Click the radio button next to the operating system image you want to install on your VPS, and then click the Reinstall button.

  8. At the confirmation prompt, click Yes.
  9. A text box is displayed with an estimate of the time to completion. When the reinstallation process is finished, you can log in to the server.